A Simple Disciple’s Walk

When did your Christian journey start? Mine started forty-five years ago when I met my soon to be wife. On many, many of our dates, the discussions always came full circle to if I believed in Jesus as my Savior. My only belief at the time was that if you died there was nothing. You flipped the switch, it was lights out, and now your worm food.

It’s not hard for me to believe that I thought this way given that my parents must have thought you learned about Jesus and salvation by osmosis. Our family was pretty much two season Christians even though I attended eight years of Catholic grade school. This, in reality, was a blessing in disguise. There was not too much baggage to be a stumbling block in my wife and my discussions.

The beginning was simple, childlike faith. Yeah, I believe that. In retrospect, wow, I went through many stages on this walk. It would be an understatement to say I was stiff-necked like the Jewish people. Self-righteousness and emotional thinking ruled my heart. I was in bondage to the traditional systems of religion. Little has changed over the centuries and the system remains the same no matter what denomination it is. However, what has changed is me.

Even though I left denominationalism and matured through research and study, I still had to rid myself of a self-righteous attitude about meeting in the home as the Apostles did. It finally came to the point that the Holy Spirit showed me that I had to lose the attitude and I am working on that. Now, even though I don’t go to the traditional church, I don’t press the issue of meeting in the home. I know that God can work even in the traditional setting. I am simply going to walk as a simple disciple and be obedient to God and Jesus, my Savior.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A Simple Disciple’s Walk

  1. A good short summary of a journey in progress. My own journey is written about somewhere in my notes section, but does not include this period in the wilderness, outside of the walls of the institutional church. blessings.

    Like

Leave a comment